The 48 Hour Film Project

The Minneapolis 48 Hour Film Project

See below for 2009 results.
For more information on 2015, click here...

The Judges Have Spoken!

Our panel of judges has made its decision. Congratulations to all of the filmmakers and teams who participated. We are proud to announce our winners!

Best Use of Character
Above-the-Line Entertainment for "Walter the Wolverine"

Best Use of Prop
Let's Hit .406 Productions for "Takeout Order"

Best Use of Line of Dialogue
Spontaneous Productions for "Hero of Destiny"

Best Use of Genre

Best Musical Song
Break Dancing Stegosaurus Productions for "Bros"

Best Art Direction [tie]
QuarterTon Productions for "Fresh and Healthy"
Rascallion Media Group for "The Grave Review"

Special Achievement Award "Making 3-D Film in 48 Hours"
3-20-E for "Death Perception: A 3-D Murder Mystery"

Best Costumes
Soft Drink Productions for "FutureSand"

Best Special Effects [tie]
Rascallion Media Group for "The Grave Review"
Off-Center Entertainment for "Minutes to Midnight"

Best Graphics
Rascallion Media Group for "The Grave Review"

Best Sound Design
Vaughn Juares for "Fragile"

Best Musical Score
3-20-E for "Death Perception: A 3-D Murder Mystery"

Best Cinematography
Shawn Lewis of QuarterTon Productions for "Fresh and Healthy"

Best Editing
I Want In... for "A 2nd Opinion"

Best Actress
Aja Hale of Vaughn Juares for "Fragile"

Best Actor
Robert Larson of Filmesota for "Save the Dojo"

Best Ensemble Acting
Collision Pictures for "Do We Really Know Green?"

Best Writing
Filmesota for "Save the Dojo"

Best Directing
Vaughn Juares of Vaughn Juares for "Fragile"

Runner Up for Best Film
Vaughn Juares for "Fragile"

Best Film
Rascallion Media Group for "The Grave Review"

Audience Awards for the 48HFP

The audience has spoken! The following teams won the audience awards for their respective screenings. Congratulations!

Audience Award Winner: Group A
"Fragile" by Vaughn Juares, Bridget McGrath & Joseph Schneider

Audience Award Winner: Group B
"Walter the Wolverine" by Above-the-Line Entertainment, Justin Schaack

Audience Award Winner: Group C
"Pink Slipped" by Vanderclef Group, John McGuinness

Audience Award Winner: Group D
"The Grave Review" by Rascallion Media Group, Matthew Olson

Audience Award Winner: Group E
"Emerald" by The One Light Collective, Stephen Kane

Audience Award Winner: Group F
"Fresh and Healthy" by QuarterTon Productions, Mike Anderson

Audience Award Winner: Group G
"Do We Really Know Green?" by Collision Pictures, James Snapko

Filmmaker Blog

Want to hear about the 48HFP from the filmmakers themselves? Then check out the 48HFP Filmmaker Blog, where 48HFP participants tell us stories of their wild weekend of filmmaking.

Minneapolis 48HFP Links


Photo by Ryan Strandjord


Character: Kathleen or Kevin Schnabel, Expert
Prop: a sandwich
Line of Dialogue: "I hope they decide soon."

Our Sponsors

Screening Groups

Group A
Screening on Tuesday, June 16th, at 7:00 PM

Brandt Can't Watch Productions, Sabin Sheppard
Digital Noir Productions, Scott Nelson
Eyetography, Alyson Jubert
Fourth Place, Emily Paul
I Want In..., Brian Prom
The Kinski Maneuver, Dylan Kvasnicka
Let's Hit .406 Productions, Robin Decaire
Little Horse on the Prairie Films, Jim Larranaga
Post Turtle Productions, Mark Neuman-Scott
Send Help Films, Adam Fielitz
SG Films, Christopher Powers
Soft Drink Productions, Jason Almendinger
Vaughn Juares, Bridget McGrath & Joseph Schneider

Group B
Screening on Tuesday, June 16th, at 9:00 PM

3-20-E, Brian Walstad
Above-the-Line Entertainment, Justin Schaack
Bungess Films, Scott Jenson
Colonic Irrigators Local #1138, Joseph Jolton
Eleventh Belly Productions, Tony Czech
The Gramercy Riffs, Keith Langsdorf
Humdinger TV, Kevin Myers
Omega Wolf and Friends, Rhett duPont
Overproof, Derek Bolden
Rabid Panda, Willson Borchert
Six-Ton Productions, Robert Sidenberg III
Stab Abner Studios, Evan Taylor
Steel Lotus Productions, Daniel Wilson

Group C
Screening on Wednesday, June 17th, at 7:00 PM

Break Dancing Stegosaurus Productions, Eric Howe
Byron Avenue Films, Christina Weese
Cold Coffee, David Clements
Green Sea, John Gigrich
Ideation Films, Michael Kraabel
Inaccurate Vernacular, John Scott
Itchy Menace Productions, John Lundquist
Premere Productions, William Morgan
Slate of Mind Productions, Matt Bjorklund
Super Night Productions, Damian Walker
Urban Mountain Media, Harrison Reeder
Vanderclef Group, John McGuinness
YAFI Underground, Andrew Rose

Group D
Screening on Wednesday, June 17th, at 9:00 PM

Alpha Suede, Kate Iverson
The Donner Party Dinner Theater, David Sjoberg
Free Range Film Festival Players, Mike Sholtz
Gimme a Break, Mickey Rich
Igrok, Steven Appelhans
Kicked Off the Roof Entertainment, Marc Conklin
Multiname Studio, Kue Xiong
Project Green Man, Ralph Matthews
Rascallion Media Group, Matthew Olson
Rookies for Cookies, Heidi Tungseth
Talking Box Productions, Whitney Thielman
Touch Base Films, Michael Olson
The World Famous Team, Benjamin Terry

Group E
Screening on Thursday, June 18th, at 7:00 PM

ASCEND Entertainment Productions, Nathan Scott
The Brotherhood of Salsa, Taylor Park
Film to Be, Suzette Babb
Galtworks Productions, Justin Bodie
Komedy Koven, Chuck Olsen
La Casa de los Gatitos, Benjamin Wilson
Northern Iron Productions, Doug Phillips
The One Light Collective, Stephen Kane
The Other End Productions, Patrick Kinne
Poor no more 2008, Donald Jackson
The Scando Casters, Peder Swendsrud
Schmidt Video Productions, Joshua Schmidt
Taylor Sound, Chris Wilson

Group F
Screening on Thursday, June 18th, at 9:00 PM

Adolf Hippo, David Pedersen
Filmesota, Ryan Grams
J.B. Chamberland Presents, Eric Wiens, Daniel Reifenberger
No Country for Little Girls, Jordan Michaud-Scorza
Off-Center Entertainment, Ryan Schaddelee
QuarterTon Productions, Mike Anderson
Spontaneous Productions, Buddy Ricker
Squirrel, Liz Malanaphy
Standby Productions, Nicki Andert
TMJ Productions, Edward Linder
Urban Turkey Productions, Marty Miller
The Wrong Company, Patrick Genellie

Group G
Screening on Monday, June 22nd, at 7:00 PM

7 Minutes Late, Scott Bowman
According to Legend Productions, Jeremy Cottrell
Alpha Suede, Kate Iverson
Cogent Pictures, Joel Kreisel
Collision Pictures, James Snapko
Desert Island Top Five Productions, Charles Mruz
Flyin' Monkey Films, Andrew Stoute
Gimme a Break, Mickey Rich
Leet Films, Will Rhodes
Pixelated Productions, Maddy Settle
Red Card Production, Eric Janzen
Thornhook RD Productions, Slobodan Bubalo
Those Guys, Danica Andler
Triple Threat Productions, Jonathan Miller
WAM Style Inc., Frank Mannella