The 48 Hour Film Project

The 48 Hour Film Project

See below for 2008 results.
For more information on 2016, click here...

Our panel of judges has made its decision. Congratulations to all of the filmmakers and teams who participated. We are proud to announce our Brisbane winners!

Best Production Design
Kate Doyle and Alex Podger for "Derail" by Red Sky at Night

Best Composer
Craig Hills and Travis Jenkins for "Each to Their Own" by Team Rebriate

Best Sound
ENjOY Productions for "An Inconvienent Ghost"

Best Actress
Sally Kelleher for "Cracking It"

Best Actor
Joe Bauer for "48"

Best Editing
Chris Clark for "Derail" by Red Sky at Night

Best Writing
Banana Piranha for "48"

Best Cinematography
David Tilburey for "Cracking It" by LanderLand

Best Directing
Joe Bauer for "48" by Banana Piranha

Second Runner Up for Best Film
"Derail" by Red Sky at Night

Runner Up for Best Film
"48" by Banana Piranha

Best Film
"An Inconvienent Ghost" by ENjOY Productions

Audience Award

The winners of the audience award won a bottle of wine.

Audience Award: Group A
"Cubular" by Creative Wave

Audience Award: Group B
"Anika's Darkness" by Pedrera Films

Congratulations to all of our award winners and everyone who made a film in just 48 hours!

Liens 48HFP


Photo by Matt Grehan.


Character: Hadley Jones, Door to Door Missionary
Prop: a sock puppet
Line of Dialogue: "I'll come back with answers."

Sponsors and Prizes

Best Overall Film

$2495 Media Composer Software Package thanks to Avid plus $1000 cash from Perception Pictures for airfares to the World Best of Competition in the US, $1000 Equipment hire voucher from Lemac and a private catered screening of American Teen for your team valued at $5,000! Total approx value: $9500!

1st Runner Up

$2500 Post-Production facilities at Cutting Edge plus $149 Pinnacle Studio Plus from Avid and $500 Equipment hire voucher from QPIX. Total approx value: $3149

2nd Runner Up

$1195 Pro Tools Music Creation Studio Package from Digidesign and a $1060 valued course of your choice at the Qld School of Film & Television. Total approx value $2255

Technical Awards

Best Actor Male & Best Actor Female

Each recieve a $600 Acting Portfolio by Renee Brazel photographer

Best Production Design

$100 Costume Hire voucher from Brisbane Arts Theatre plus excellent theatre show passes, Trash Video hire vouchers and double-passes to see American Teen and a 1yr membership with QPIX. Total approx value: $460

Best Script

$100 Book voucher from Riverbend Bookstore plus Associate Membership with the Queensland Writers Centre and the Australian Writers Guild. Total approx value: $455.00

Best Editor

$200 voucher for Film & Tape Sales (FATS) and $199 Pinnacle Studio Ultimate software from Avid. Total approx value: $400

Best Cinematography

$200 voucher for Film & Tape Sales (FATS) and a huge package of MiniDV tapes. Total approx value: $600

Best Song or Score

$795 Sibelius 5 software thanks to Digidesign

Best Sound Design

$645 Pro Tools Personal Studio thanks to Digidesign

Best Director

1-year associate membership with the Australian Director's Guild, a 1-year membership with QPIX, heaps of Trash Video hire vouchers and double-passes to American Teen. Total approx value: $540.00

And don't forget our Audience Favourite Awards which include a case of RedBull, movie tickets and promo t-shirts!

Brisbane Teams

Aimless Productions, Aimee-Paige Sheriff
Banana Piranha, Joe Bauer
Bjorn Control, Thomas Graham
Celluloid Nightmare, Paul Vorrasi
Creative Wave , Lars Myrvang
ENjOY Productions, Jacob Livermore
G Power, Jeremey Wheatley
Gaslegubben, Heather Cassidy
Ground Glass Pictures, Richard Morton
Hardingo, Rode Harding
Inkworks, Daley Pearson
Internationally Representing..., Ashley DeMeza
LanderLand Productions, David Tilburey
MES Madness, Shane Appleby
Metro South TAFE, Lance Balchin
Mexico City Cats, Jai Hogg / Tani Budini
Paradox III-I, Heiman Lui
Pedrera Films, Ben Starkey
Po Mo Productions, Dana Holden
Project 48, Philip J Maschke
Red Sky at Night, Alex Podger
Robust Papoose, Sam Monaghan
Room 101, Simon Kay
Social Karma, Scott Kocho
SynthFX, John Perrigo
T & DL, Tim Lutherborrow
Team Rebriate, Adam Webb
Team They Mostly Come at Night. Mostly, Clayton Smith
The Goodfellas, Rickie-Lee Roberts
The Initiative, Jason Solari
The Symptoms, Ben Kelso
Those Guys Over There, Bernhard Johansen
Traced Pictures, Anni Hryckiewcz
Wahdoo Films, Maryanne Paterson