The 48 Hour Film Project

The Des Moines 48 Hour Film Project

The 48 Hour Film Project comes to Des Moines on the weekend of July 24 - 26, 2015. Filmmakers from all over the Des Moines area will compete to see who can make the best short film in only 48 hours. The winning film will go up against films from around the world.

Enter today! Space is limited.

This year, teams will be accepted on a first come, first served basis. Once the initial registration is complete, we will add teams to a waiting list.

Early Bird Registration is $140. Teams must register on or before Monday, June 29 to get this special rate. Regular registration is $160. If teams register after Tuesday, July 14 they must pay a rate of $175.

Register for the Des Moines 48 Hour Film Project now!

Des Moines 48HFP Events

48 Meet & Greet at Interrobang

Date  Friday, June 26
Time  7pm
Place  Interrobang Film Festival, Des Moines Arts Festival
Notes  Come mingle with 48 hour filmmakers and local producers. Get your questions answered about the 48HFP and have some fun before the big weekend.


Date  Friday, July 24
Time  6:00 - 7:00pm
Place  Des Moines Art Center, 4700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50312


Date  Sunday, July 26
Time  5pm-8pm (by 7:30pm to be on time!)
Place  Fleur Cinema, 4545 Fleur Drive

Premiere Screenings

Date  August 4,5,6
Time  7 , 7 :15, 9:30 & 9:45 pm
Place  Fleur Cinema, 4545 Fleur Drive
Tickets  $10 per show (purchase them here)

Best Of Screening

Date  Thursday, August 20
Time  7pm
Place  Fleur Cinema, 4545 Fleur Drive
Tickets  $20 (purchase them here)

Des Moines 48HFP Links


Photo by Tim Kiser.

Our Sponsors

fleurcinemaandcafe logodesmoinessocialclub logo
piov logodesmoinesartcenter logo
seveneleventheatreproject logomodernamericancinema logo
cheshiremoonfilms logoproduceiowa logo
pastelogo logopond5 logo
moviemagicsw logo

Registered Teams

Brorittos, Travis Reinders
Demonkey, Brandon Thomas
Gate 13 & Bluu Studios, Gabriel Tejeda
Gladhouse Studio, Gary DeSomber
Mayhem Nation, Kevin Tobey
Mildly Insane Productions, Cody Burk
Poplar Production, Joshua Weber
Slater Maxwell Productions, Phil McLean
SouthSiderStudios, Amanda Kieler
white poison industries, Nick Strickland