Boston, Massachusetts May 1 - 3, 2015

The Judges Have Spoken!

Our panel of judges has made its decisions. The judges were Joyce Kulhawik, President of the Boston Theater Critics Association; Tom Meek, President of the Boston Society of Film Critics; and Janice Page, Deputy Managing Editor of Features at the Boston Globe. Every team that finishes a film is a winner—congratulations! Here's who took home the awards:

Best Use of Character
First Day of School Pictures for “DIEnamics”

Best Use of Prop
Sparkstart Productions for “Take Two”

Best Use of Line
Corrupted File for “The Situation”

Best Use of Genre
Lyve Media for the detective/cop movie “DSL Cereal Intent”

Best Alien Laugh Track
Pica Films for “Human Family Unit”

Retro 48 Award
Michael J. Epstein Memorial Library for “Los Locos Dientes”

Women in the 48
Outstanding Youth: Adria Orenstein, writer and director for “Fleep and Meev’s Big Adventure”
Runner Up: Anna Callahan, producer, AD, PA, composer, and musician for “Take Two”
Runner Up: Katelyn Willis, writer, PA, set decorator, and editor for “Love on the Rocks”
Grand Prize: Megan Yawor, team leader, producer, cinematographer, and editor for “A Thread of Truth”

Best Catering
Chris Aimola and Kevan Budrow for “Magic Meeting”

Best Ending
Brainfox/In the Car for “Note-worthy”

Best Costumes
Lyve Media for “DSL Cereal Intent”

Best Titles
Lyve Media for “DSL Cereal Intent”

Best Sound
Cesar Suarez and Jason Walsh for “Vent”

Best Music
Eddie Nicolau, Harrison Fuerst & Kristyn Ulanday for “Dynocorp”

Best Ensemble
Annie Cicero, Jill Rodgers, Aaron Compagna, Megan Donegan, Mark Marshall, Kyp Pilalas, and Anja Ward for “BOS ➤ LAX”

Best Actor [tie]
Harrison Fuerst for “Dynocorp” and
Eddie Nicolau for “Dynocorp”

Best Actress
Anne Colpitts for “Note-worthy”

Best Cinematography [tie]
Ben Bagley for “BOS ➤ LAX” and
Ian Fein for “Take Two”

Best Editing
Mark Marshall and Kyp Pilalas for “BOS ➤ LAX”

Runner Up for Best Script
Laura Latimer, Gabriel Whitney, Julien Gundey and Daniel Latimer for “DIEnamics”

Best Script
Eddie Nicolau, Harrison Fuerst and Kristyn Ulanday for “Dynocorp”

Best Directing
Mark Marshall and Kyp Pilalas for “BOS ➤ LAX”

Runner Up for Best Film
“BOS ➤ LAX” by Wax Idiotical Films

Best Film
“Dynocorp” by the Studio

Boston 48HFP Audience Awards

The following teams won the audience awards for their respective screenings. Congratulations to these teams and everyone who made a film!

Audience Award Winner: Group A
“Rhyme and Punishment” by Robot and the Ready Readies

Audience Award Winner: Group B
“DSL Cereal Intent” by Lyve Media

Audience Award Winner: Group C
“Moose Tracks” by Moose Films

Audience Award Winner: Group D
“Max Cool Slide” by Hoover Products

Audience Award Winner: Group E
“Sandy” by Maquillage Films

Audience Award Winner: Group F
“Love on the Rocks” by Tooting in the Leaves

Exhausted Boston Teams Submit Films

Filmmaking teams from all over New England successfully completed a weekend of filmmaking. Films were due on Sunday, May 3rd, and the last few minutes before the deadline saw filmmakers, operating on little sleep and lots of adrenaline, rushing to get their films in on time.

Hear from the Filmmakers

Want to hear about the Boston 48HFP from the filmmakers themselves? Check out #boston48hfp on Twitter as well as #boston48hfp on Instagram, which are chock full of pictures and mini-reflections from filmmakers' frenetic weekends. Also, check out our Facebook page, which has some pictures and comments as well. Enjoy, and see you at the show!

Boston 48HFP Links

Required Elements

Character  Shawn or Sharon Middleton, Wordsmith
Prop  ice
Line  "This is the future."

Our Sponsors

hunts-photo-and-video logo
pulse logo
itvf logo
pond5 logomoviemagicsw logo

Screening Groups

Group A
Screening on Wednesday, May 6 @ 7:00pm, Braden Joe
Clockwork Productions, Rebecca Malas
Extra Medium, Steve Lewis
IncendioFilms, Stephan Panico
Longshot, David perez
MillieCat Productions, Dave Montgomery
Never Serious, James Basler
Robot and the Ready Readies, Stephen Wrobleski
SparkStart Productions, Gina Luciano
Street Ninja Productions, Katelyn MacLean
The Java Cats, John Willoughby
The Studio, Nathan Cameron
Third Eye Agency, Nate Cantalupo
Trust, Bruv, Desiree McMahon
Wax Idiotical Films, Kyp Pilalas

Group B
Screening on Wednesday, May 6 @ 9:15pm

Allen & Gerritsen, James Ferguson
Brilliant Gem Productions, Alex Nenopoulos
Broken Compass Videos, Phil DiPrima
Collective Subconscious Productions, Ned Scannell
Fat Foot Films, Aaron Bouchard
Fix It In Post, Todd Mahoney
Lyve Media, Frank Flahive
Pica Films, Matt Relstab
Sparkle Motion Pictures, Glen Weinstein
Team Otis, Bill Parker
Top Feeg, Joseph LaRocca
Unfinished Draught, Mike Nichols
Vitamin Snake, Jon Costanza
White Door Films, Anthony Caddigan

Group C
Screening on Thursday, May 7 @ 7:00pm

Crazed Weasel Entertainment, Brendan Millet
FRED-TV, Pauline McGrath
Garmonbozia Productions, Alex Cote
GoGulls Productions, megan yawor
Groton Tomatoes, Bob Colman
Gwowl Productions, Gwyneth White
Illest Villians, Dariush Ghaffari
Moose Films, David Canfield
Team Torpor, David Baron
Team Wednesday, Chris Ho
The Piano Men, Adria Orenstein
The Super Secret Improv Collective, Dave Galloway
Waverley Knobs Entertainment, Tatiana Ivan

Group D
Screening on Thursday, May 7 @ 9:15pm

11 Car Pile up Productions, Chris Denmead
Bottom of the Barrel, Rabia Neslihan Sahinkaya
box house productions, nathaniel hilbert
Brainfox/In The Car, Brett Johnson
Chau's Creative, chau le
Corrupted File, Meaghan Bauer
CS50, David Malan
First Day of School Pictures, Daniel Latimer
Glasseye, Kevin Banks
Hoover Products, Ben Heider
Institute Institute, Andrew Thompson
The Mason Jars, Sebastian Ruan
The Michael J. Epstein Memorial Library, Michael J. Epstein
Warehouse, caroline hubert
Weekend Warriors, Brandon Cardwell

Group E
Screening on Tuesday, May 12 @ 7:00pm

1 AAA Actor Team, Andrea Lyman
Charles River Swimming and Diving Team, Pete Septoff
Donut Pirates, lisa aimola
Fetchaduck Films, Jamie Moschella
Good Natured Dog Productions, Alecia Orsini
Lang Productions, Norman Lang
Maquillage Films, Shaun Donahue
MetroWest Media Productions, William Campbell
Now Shooting, Whittaker Ingbretson
PS Productions, Santosh Dawesar
Scrupulous Productions, Dan Harrold
Shoot the Moon Films, Curtis Reid
Team Puckerfish, Christopher McKenzie
The Troglodytes, Nicholas Agri
Until Further Notice, Paul Ezzy

Group F
Screening on Tuesday, May 12 @ 9:15pm

F.I.L.F. Squad, Nick Blanchette
First Riverbed Canvas, Tom Kochem
Fitweed, charles almy
Fried Nostalgia Films, Ryan Hoff
Grassfed Productions, Jay LeBeau
Hop and Pop Productions, Jeff Poreda
Jack Flash Films, Peter Ferriero
Obnots, Joed Polly
Pelham Productions, Jeremy Fraga
Self Unemployed, Chris Dryer
Spacetime, Roger Metcalf
Stand Up Mandy, Jeffrey Stern
Tooting in the Leaves, Sean Foy
UMass Boston Movie Making Club, Daniel Richardson

Important Message: Copycat Disclaimer

Copyright © 2001-2015 48 Hour Film Project, Inc. All Rights Reserved